The Gospel Truth

The First Atheist | June 21, 2012

I have often paraphrase Robert Fulghum’s book, All I Needed to Know I Learned In Kindergarten.

Since my Catholic school did not have a kindergarten, I learned everything I need by the end of the first month of first grade.

Knew it all at five

It was all contained in a single question in thew Baltimore Catechism–the third one I believe.

Why did God make me?

The answer is of course: To know, love and serve Him in this world and be happy with him in the next.

As basic as that pity answer is it is loaded with high-minded theology and pregnant with all the philosophy and wisdom that any person, no matter how old or young needs to know.

Everything I have learned since then have ben postscript.

The word serve reminds me of the quote attributed to Lucifer right after the world’s first great rebellion of the defiant angels.

In his epic poem, Paradise Lost, John Milton quoted Lucifer’s after his fall that it was better to reign in Hell forever than serve in heaven for one day.

That statement goes a long way in explaining the behavior of atheists.

I guess that makes Lucifer the first atheist.

the first of his kind

As we go more deeply into the 21st century, atheism is generating a lot more currency.

Prominent atheists are spreading their anti-gospel message in increasing numbers and generating many public debate on the place of religion in governments and societies in the modern world.

Thanks to the Internet they have been able to network together around the world.

Today about 2.3 percent of the world’s population identifies themselves as atheist with another 12 percent more describe themselves as agnostic or non-believers in any deity.

The ranks of scientists boast probably the largest concentration of atheists.

This is true because the very power and majesty of science instills a false sense  of their own elevated intellectual abilities that adorns itself in godlike attire.

Supreme egotists, such as that fear the competition from a Being more divine than they are.

I was shocked to learn that many famous and highly regarded men and women are numbered in their ranks.

Raises some eyebrows

Their recorded ranks include Epicurus, Mick Jagger of the Rollin Stones, Andrew Carnegie, Freud, Clarence Darrow, Ayn Rand, and radical college professor, Noam Chomsky, Facebook’s Steve Zuckerberg, comedian George Carlin, and George Soros, one of the most ardent supporters of Barack Obama.

Objected to religion

If I am not mistaken, Obama’s mother declared her atheism at one time.

While most of the above list will not surprise, the declarations of actresses Jodie Foster and the late Katherine Hepburn should raise a few eyebrows.

Warren Buffet the richest man in America might also be surprise.

He describes himself as religiously agnostic.

According to a 1995 biography, he adopted his father’s ethical underpinnings, but not his belief in an unseen divinity.

In case no one has noticed there is a new brand of militant atheists on the march.

They are angrily led by such non-believing luminaries, such as Richard Dawkins, Daniel Dennett, Sam Harris, and the late Christopher Hitchens.

Dawkins, the author of the 2006 best-seller, The God Delusion is their presumptive leader.

Leader of the godless pack

In his 2004 book, The End of Faith: Religion, Terror and the Future of Religion, Harris takes more of an apocalyptic approach.

He believes that people must renounce religious faith or it will mark the end of civilization, conveniently ignoring the destruction of more than 175 million people at the bloody hands of atheistic governments during the 20th century.

Taken as a group these few angry men believe they have Christianity on the ropes because of it sexual scandals, loss of universal membership and the general demise of a religious and moral society.

Like their forebears from the French Revolution, they see the Church as an institution founded on unreason and superstition.

It is their sacred mission to chase such foolish ideas from the public marketplace.

Atheism has fascinated me for a long time.

For some reason I seem drawn to them.

While at WGNU radio I developed a long personal relationship with a fellow who sometimes used the handles of Gunboy Jim or Jim from Ferguson.

He was very bright, more of a library-educated philosopher who loudly proclaimed his atheism.

He was also ardently pro-abortion.

He would come up with the most creative arguments that he believed justified abortion.

One time in the 1980s in an off-air phone conversation he said that abortion was a noble act.

So great was my visceral reaction that I could not restrain my contempt for him and his ideas.

Despite my rage, Jim continued to call and challenge me.

These calls made me a much better talk show host.

Wonder if Jack and Jim will find that inner peace

I eventually put away my anger and tried to understand him and his atheism.

I realized that he was my neighbor and he needed something more than my righteous indignation.

I never did fathom why he wanted to protect a woman’s right to choose…death for her child.

He lived with his mom, rode a bike, seemed to have no job, never talked about dating or having a lady friend.

One time in an e-mail he casually mentioned how he had been doing the dishes and the housework for his mother who had been seriously ill.

I told him in a near apologetic tone that what he was doing was the work of sainthood.

In the spirit of his namesake, the work of sainthood

I was taken aback when he thanked me for seeing some good in him.

That nearly reduced me to tears.

I told Jim I would pray for him.

Jim was a seeker who wanted to know and understand the reality of life but had been looking in all the wrong places.

I haven’t heard from him in a long time. I often wonder if he ever filled the void, that spiritual vacuum in his life that the absence of God leaves.

I really miss the exchanges.

Last July we were on a plane, flying to the West Coast when I started talking with a pretty blonde lady from Tennessee.

We talked for three and a half hours.

She told me about a physical malady she had–Titanium poisoning from the fillings in her teeth–that caused her to lose her job as a nurse and had virtually incapacitated her.

Vanity prevented her from removing the teeth.

She also mentioned a wayward husband whose philandering made her blame God for her misfortune.

I suggested she read Bishop Fulton’ J. Sheen’s book Life is Worth Living  to raise her spirits and enhance her life.ecause she was done on life in general…at least her life.

Life Is Worth Living

Part of the deal

We made a deal.

I had told her I told her my long interest in becoming a lector at our Church during Mass.

It as something I had on my mind for five years.

She would read the book and I would sign up in church.

Last January, I finally expressed my interest and told our pastor the whg\ole story, which is a lot longer than recounted here.

He asked if she had kept her part of the bargain.

I told him, I had no idea.

I didn’t even remember her name.

But I had given my word and it was between her and….God to keep her end.

My last example involves a morning at the abortion center in St. Louis.

I go there a few times every year to witness with my fellow pro-lifers.

One time there was this solitary figure who was witnessing against us!!

I engaged him a conversation that lasted over an hour.

My fellow picketers later thanked me for keeping him occupied as he does this on a regular basis.

His atheism was founded on an anger director toward the creator and by proxy His innocent human creations.

God’s crime was sending him a son who was a violent schizophrenic he tried to stab his wife in the neck.

Anti-abortion vigil

Protesting life

He also floored me with his statement that he wished his mother had aborted him, so that he would be in Heaven with God.

I don’t know what his standing would have been.

He might know more than I do because I think Limbo is literally history.

I guess Paco, 12-year-old, I encountered on his video game connection,the other while my grandson and I were parallel playing, was right when he said that he didn’t believe in God because religion was too confusing.

So is the meaning of life and that’s really what it’s all about as Alfie once said.


4 Comments »

  1. Wonderful article BB…..life is empty without Faith.

    Comment by Jim — June 21, 2012 @ 5:11 pm

  2. A few typo’s but the message is clear. I remember us discussing this person who challenged you and it seems he would not really listen to your explanations . I felt sorry for him. Looking and yet blocking the truth.

    Comment by Mary B. Lachney — June 21, 2012 @ 11:54 pm

    • Mary:

      If you are talking about “Jim,” I wonder about him all the time. I tried writing him a couple years ago to pick up where we had left off and I never got an answer. I wish i had kept his full name, which I saw in the Caller ID at our radio station many years ago. No way of tracing him either. I have a gut feeling that he has learned the error of his thought big time. BB

      Comment by bbprof — June 22, 2012 @ 1:52 pm

  3. It’s hard to understand how anyone who believes in
    God could be pro-choice/abort, as human beings
    are God’s creation at the highest level.

    Certainly Christians and Jews know the ten command-
    ments and the 5th dictates that we should not kill.

    MF

    Comment by MF — June 22, 2012 @ 1:41 pm


Leave a Reply

About author

After graduating from Holy Cross, Bill Borst earned an MA in Asian History from St. John's University and a Ph.D in American History from St. Louis University. (1972) A former New Yorker, he taught for many years in the St. Louis area, while also hosting a weekly radio show on WGNU from 1984-2006. He currently is a regular substitute for conservative Phyllis Schlafly on KSIV radio. (1320) He is the author of two books on social history, "Liberalism: Fatal Consequences," and "The Scorpion and the Frog: A Natural Conspiracy." He just retired as the Features editor of the Mindszenty Foundation Monthly Report. In his 11 years from 2003-2013 he wrote nearly 130 essays on Catholic culture and world affairs. Many in St. Louis also know him as the "Baseball Professor," because of a course that he offered at Maryville College from 1973-74. It was arguably the first fully-accredited baseball history course in the Midwest.The author of several short books on the old St. Louis Browns, he started the St. Louis Browns Historical Society in 1984. In 2009 his first two plays were produced on the local stage. "The Last Memory of an Ol' Brownie Fan," ran six performances at the Sound Stage in Crestwood and "A Perfect Choice" ran for two performances at the Rigali Center Theater in Shrewsberry. His third play, "A Moment of Grace," ran six performances at DeSmet High School in January of 2011with First Run Theater in January of 2011. He is currently working on a 4th play, "A Family Way," which is a comedy about a happy dysfunctional family. He can reached at bbprof@sbcglobal.net

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

