The Gospel Truth

Unrest in the Men’s Room | December 29, 2011

It is difficult to read the newspapers, listen to the news on TV or the radio and not come away with a very bad feeling about the state of our society and the relationship it has with its most vulnerable people.

No, I am not writing about the unborn.  I’ll save that for another day.

But it is not that far removed from this most pernicious evil.

I am thinking about the war on little boys.

It seems that the clerical scandal that rocked the Catholic Church, as it has not been rocked since the days of Martin Luther, is just the tip of the iceberg.

Predators now seem to have been also lurking on several the college campuses and any where young boys can be found.

Image Detail

They lurk everywhere

The stories at Penn State, and Syracuse University are probably just the first to make the headlines.

I can only imagine that there will be others.

These sexual deviates are as ubiquitous as the drunken uncle or lascivious brother-in-law.  Every family has at least one.

As someone who has been exposed to a modicum of Thomistic philosophy, I have always sought causes for historic events.

Fairly or unfairly, I look first to the women’s movement that sent shock waves through American social and sexual relationships in the late sixties.

Since then women have challenged and confronted men in every aspect of their existence.

Where lines of gender separation or specialization had been historically and socially

established, women have broken through with a fiery anger that has incinerated anyone or anything that had the temerity to get in their way.

As a result adult men, especially the leadership of many of our Catholic colleges have failed to stand up to many of their outlandish demands.

I am not saying that women should have stayed barefoot, uneducated and pregnant–only that they shed their traditional sexual and family roles with such an alacrity that it was, not only blood curdling, but also destructive to, not only family life, but the civilization as well.

And this was done with a selfish disregard for the unintended consequences of their angered approach.

It is only Christian charity that prevents me from saying that much of the destruction of traditional society was not intended.

I think the women’s movement of the 1960s has also done terrible things to the relationship with mothers to their offspring, especially their sons.

Many sociologists have started calling our culture a feminized culture.

Image Detail

A war on males

The hands that once rocked the cradle with tenderness, selflessness and maternal love, now seem to have another agenda that is for want of a better word–misandrist.

Many brave psychologists say this has caused many young to suffer from a perpetual adolescent or what professionals may arrested development.

Many women have coddled and desensitized their sons to their own masculinity that millions have become wimpy, non-competitive and emotionally emasculated.

I would argue that this is partly the reason so many young men are either attracted to other men and or boys and have become easy pickings for all the chicken hawks stalking their natural habitats.

Some mothers have made their sons so cognizant of the existence of predators that to many of them, every man they meet is a potential rapist.

This is an outgrowth of the feminists who think that every man is a rapist and that Christian marriage is nothing more than legalized rape.

As a result many men have become innocent victims of their undue vigilance on the mothers’ part and have had their lives ruined and even spent time in prison where child molesters live as long as a turkey in late November.

One need only remember the case of defrocked priest, John Geoghan, who had over 300 notches in his molesters belt before being imprisoned.

While his was a heinous crime that cried to the Heavens for punishment, it was not a capital crime.

John Geoghan

Not a capital crime

The acclaim or indifference surrounding his brutal murder in a Massachusetts prison in 2003 at the hands of a glory-seeking convict, Joseph Druce, is curious because most of our enlightened society abhors capital punishment by due process.

It is the same incongruity that also approves of over a million executions in the abortion clinics each year.

To modern couples, and their children of choice–what the Chinese call, imperial children boys have a much higher status.

Their abuse must be avenged, even including an unceremonious death at the hands of an assassin.

One need only remember the Amiraults at Fells Acres Day School in Malden, Massachusetts, the McMartin Preschool case in California, and the Glendale Montessori School in Stuart, Florida where the owners and directors of  these day care center were wrongly accused and subsequently convicted by an overzealous prosecutor who sensed the political potential of this issue.

I have been aware of this over-reaction to the growing epidemic of sexual predators that has befallen our once virile nation.

It is has something that frightened me in my own personal life.

It has gotten to the point that I never like to be alone in a restroom with a young boy.

For the record, I have never had any sexual attraction for any boys or men my entire life.

I fear more their over-protective mothers.

Image Detail

Are mothers over-protective of their sons?

One personal incident will suffice as illustration.

I was in a Best Buy about 10 years ago.  The call to nature came and so I headed back to the restroom.

As I got near the entry, I passed a young mother with her recalcitrant five or six-year-old son.

I just had a premonition that really frightened me.

It was akin to Claudia, Pilate’s wife, warning him not to have anything to do with Jesus.

Image Detail

Warned her husband

I remember praying to myself–please God make her take him to the ladies’ room.

God wasn’t listening or He knew I needed what was about to happen.

I rushed it and did what I had to do in record time and was washing my hands when this little boys walks in and starts to belly up to the bar.

Before getting there and fortunately before unzipping, he looks at me and with all undue seriousness says:

Don’t you touch my penis.

I hope the dreaded shock of my worst fear that had just come to life did not show on my face.

Image Detail

A similar image of my face

I nervously said: The thought had never occurred to me.

I immediately had this vision of being led away with my hands cuffed behind my back, mumbling something like, but officer I never touched the kid!

I quickly made for the door just as another man came in.

I must have broken all fleeing alleged child molester records for a return to my get-away-car.

All of this is not to discount real predators–only to say that both men and women should be reasonable about this dreaded subject and start thinking out of the box about the war on boys, which is nothing more than a miniaturized war on men.

9 Comments »

  1. It is sad that parents, both moms and dads, can’t allow
    their children, both sons and daughters the freedom
    we seniors enjoyed in our youth.

    Our culture has so declined that even adults must be
    more vigilant about where they go these days.

    I personally do not think that mothers, for the most
    part, are more protective of their sons than their
    daughters and don’t think that fathers are less protec-
    tive of their children whether male or female.

    TV news is mainly focused on attacks against people,
    both young and old, both male and female.

    The media dwells on this which of course makes people fearful. The media SHOULD be reporting
    the TRUTH about what is being perpetrated by both
    State and Federal Government.

    MF

    Comment by M. F. — December 29, 2011 @ 3:26 pm

  2. Sexual abuse of a child isn’t necessarily a homosexual act. It is a deranged act of control. As a mother I am deeply saddened that we have to even tell our CHILDREN bout stranger danger. This is why children need adult supervision. Many thanks I’m not talking about smothering them there is a difference!
    !

    Comment by Tami — December 29, 2011 @ 5:41 pm

  3. We witness Public Schools condemnation of anything masculine exercised by the male students. Mothers whom are overly protective, children without Fathers.
    The exclusion of Fathers in many families as the Mothers maintain absolute control. The adoption of children, by homosexual people.
    The military is seriously effected by the female introduction into the the ranks and command.
    The entertainment industry feature the “Girlie Boys” as examples of what the male should be.
    The media has deceitfully lied to the American people for many years and continue to do so as they cruse down the road of bankrupt. TV Industry supports, white homosexual men and boys, presents the male as a bumbling idiot.
    We have lost our way as a nation of male leadership and character.

    Comment by Jim — December 29, 2011 @ 6:22 pm

    • Thanks Jim you eloquently said what I forgot to include in my post.

      Comment by bbprof — December 29, 2011 @ 8:30 pm

  4. Tami: Thanks for the poignant comment. I think the vast majority of sexual abuse cases, especially, while not exclusively those of homosexuals. the vast majority were either that or one of its subsets–pederasty. In my book, Liberalism: Fatal Consequences” I quoted from a gay newspaper–The “Blade” I think where they headlined the wish that: “If no sex by eight, it is too late.”

    Comment by bbprof — December 29, 2011 @ 8:34 pm

  5. Firstly: All the best for the new year Bill. I don’t always have time to sit and read your articles and appreciate that you keep on sending them, I usually catch up eventually.
    Due to the result of the Iron Curtain with families lost then found many years later by the Red Cross, my younger brother and I were reared by the Sally’s. It is only now I realize the providence of God that we were. It was only a recnt trip to Perth, that we both shared the fact, it had been the happiest time of our lives.
    Neither of us were ever abused, sexually or otherwise, and the realization of how common it was, especially in the faith I embraced as an adult is mortifying.
    Little children, born in the image of God, many today as adults, committed suicide.
    The infamy of bringing the Christ Child to the alter at this time of the year, to have been sacrificed at the hands of our clergy, and covered up by our hierarchy for decades, the Spirit grieves.

    Comment by L. Newington — December 30, 2011 @ 2:31 am

  6. Lynn:

    Always a pleasure hearing from you “down under”. (Does that make me “up over?” Becoming an adult occurs when one first realizes that there are evil people in this world…or at least people who do evil. I wholeheartedly believe in God’s Divine Providence. My recent family grace on Christmas afternoon was arguably by far the best I had ever given and it hinged on the importance of my getting my rejection letter revoked or rescinded by my saintly Aunt Mal. I wrote about it earlier in May when I went to my 50th HS reunion at Xavier HS. BB.

    Comment by bbprof — December 30, 2011 @ 5:12 am

  7. I agree with you, Bill. The whole plan to destroy families, marriage, get women out of the home and go to work , children being reared in daycare centers, starting school too young, all contribute to the demise of men. Altar girls, If girls are going to do it, boys will back away. I believe its part of a plot to bring our country down . Pax

    Comment by Mary B — December 31, 2011 @ 3:20 am

    • Thanks for the comment. Happy NY to you and Lloyd. Bb

      Comment by bbprof — December 31, 2011 @ 7:47 pm


Leave a Reply

About author

After graduating from Holy Cross, Bill Borst earned an MA in Asian History from St. John's University and a Ph.D in American History from St. Louis University. (1972) A former New Yorker, he taught for many years in the St. Louis area, while also hosting a weekly radio show on WGNU from 1984-2006. He currently is a regular substitute for conservative Phyllis Schlafly on KSIV radio. (1320) He is the author of two books on social history, "Liberalism: Fatal Consequences," and "The Scorpion and the Frog: A Natural Conspiracy." He just retired as the Features editor of the Mindszenty Foundation Monthly Report. In his 11 years from 2003-2013 he wrote nearly 130 essays on Catholic culture and world affairs. Many in St. Louis also know him as the "Baseball Professor," because of a course that he offered at Maryville College from 1973-74. It was arguably the first fully-accredited baseball history course in the Midwest.The author of several short books on the old St. Louis Browns, he started the St. Louis Browns Historical Society in 1984. In 2009 his first two plays were produced on the local stage. "The Last Memory of an Ol' Brownie Fan," ran six performances at the Sound Stage in Crestwood and "A Perfect Choice" ran for two performances at the Rigali Center Theater in Shrewsberry. His third play, "A Moment of Grace," ran six performances at DeSmet High School in January of 2011with First Run Theater in January of 2011. He is currently working on a 4th play, "A Family Way," which is a comedy about a happy dysfunctional family. He can reached at bbprof@sbcglobal.net

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

