The Gospel Truth

Postcards from Heaven Part II | August 31, 2010

As I was saying, I don’t understand how anyone can live without a center of being.

The late Father Viktor Frankel, a Jew who converted to Catholicism after surviving the death camps, later wrote a classic, entitled Man’s Search for Meaning.

I read it in college and never have forgotten that he wrote of man’s existential vacuum.

His main point was that we all have an emptiness that has to be filled with something.

Bishop Fulton J. Sheen used to say that the human heart is anatomically not like its renditions on St. Valentine’s Day or it those little heart candies that I can’t eat any more.

No, there is actually a small missing piece that seems to be preventing it from being a perfect heart shape.

Sheen says that this missing piece is what drives us to search for the meaning in our lives.

God withheld that small piece so that we would find another peace in Him.  His love and grace would show us the way but we still had to seek Him.

People look in all the wrong places to fill up the emptiness they feel inside.

Since nature abhors a vacuum, many people fill their emptiness with science, sex, food, drugs, alcohol, work or even esoteric religions.

We just saw the movie, Eat, Pray and Love, based on a book of the same name. The author Liz Gilbert filled her emptiness with tons of pasta, Hindu meditation and a love affair.

Despite their protests, atheists also have to fill theirs with something, which means they do have a god.  

Unfortunately it is probably their own egos.

That becomes a primordial itch that is impossible to scratch.

With regard to my natural arguments of finding God, atheists might offer the Muskox as an example of God’s mistake  or the imperfections of nature.

While I admit that this hardy beast, which can only be found in the tundra regions of the Arctic, Greenland, Alaska and northern Canada, looks like he had been assembled by a committee, I found that he a fascinating natural wonder.

The Muskox has an undercoat that it sheds periodically that is used in beautiful sweater that belie its lack of nature beauty

A Heavenly undercoat

As for human beings, I do not know how anyone can look at the face of a child and not see God.

I often look into a little  child’s keen, fresh eyes that are trying to see and absorb everything around them and I hear a prayer telling me that this is the purity and innocence that we will all return to someday.

The face of God

This is God’s way of telling us that the ways of the world, the notorious City of Man has as its major goal and that is the destruction of the innocence in those eyes before me.

Notice how many crimes are directed against small children.

Notice how Planned Parenthood and others try to seduce our children into premature sexual behaviors that will not only rob them of their innocence but turn them into hard, angry teenagers, dressed in gothic black that almost looks as if they have traveled over to the dark side.

1d24179922a8cbc5eda730d899b35805.jpg cyber goth image sexyricky1988

On the darker side

I have had very little personal experience with atheism.

When I had a regular radio program on WGNU, one of my most memorable callers was a man who sometimes used the handle of Gunboy Jim.

Jim was very bright, more of a library-educated philosopher who proudly proclaimed his atheism.

Ardently pro-abortion, he would come up with the most creative arguments that justified in his mind a woman’s right to choose to kill her unborn child.

One time in the 1980s in an off-air phone conversation he said that abortion was a noble act.

So great was my visceral reaction that I could not restrain my contempt for him and his ideas.

I think part of my visceral reaction stems for my great love and respect for women.

They are to me the most beautiful part of God’s creation.  Beautiful women have inspired artists and writers for 1000s of years.

Of Helen of Troy, Edgar Allan Poe said she was so beautiful that her face launched a thousand ships.

Zooey Deschanel

Thank Heaven for...

Despite my rage, Jim continued to call and challenge me.  He made me a much better talk show host.  I eventually put away my anger and tried to understand him and his atheism.

I realized that he was my neighbor and he needed something more than my righteous indignation.

One time in an e-mail he casually mentioned how he had been doing the dishes and the housework for his mother who had been seriously ill.  I told him in a near apologetic tone that what he was doing was the work of sainthood.

I was taken back when he thanked me for seeing some good in him. I told Jim I would pray for him. He continued to call and write me.

Still of Amy Adams in Charlie Wilson's War

A 1000 years of inspiration

 

Jim was a seeker, who wanted to know and understand the reality of life but had been looking in all the wrong places.  His vacuum was still empty and his restlessness showed it.

I keep thinking that if he could see some of these postcards from Heaven, or better still the real thing, he would open his heart to God’s beauty and ultimate truth.

I haven’t heard from him in a long time.

I have a gut feeling he already knows that there really is a God who loves him.

Whatever the case I continue to pray that he has found that inner peace or what Bishop Fulton J. Sheen called peace of soul.

Like Jim all the militant atheists in this country also need our prayers.

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Bill,
    I was a listener of WGNU for about 20 years and was sorry to hear it disappear.

    Is there a complete list of the various show hosts on-line? I recently heard about Leonardo’s murder trial and was wondering what happened to the other hosts.

    Thanks,
    David

    Comment by David Grace — August 31, 2010 @ 3:09 am

    • Dear David:

      Thanks for remembering me. I didn’t actually disappear as you put it but have been doing other things. Check the listings at eagle Forum…I fill in regularly for P. Schlafly. I have two appearances in September on Saturday the 11th and the 18th, plus the first Saturday in October @ 11AM 1320 on the AM. BB

      PS As for the other disappearing hosts—sounds like the makings of a website—you should start it.

      Comment by bbprof — August 31, 2010 @ 1:46 pm

  2. Bill
    good job! Here is a link to a song- God shaped hole (fitting)http://new.music.yahoo.com/plumb/tracks/god-shaped-hole–1588783
    If you click on purple arrow it will play. Love you- Patti

    Comment by Patti — August 31, 2010 @ 2:18 pm

  3. Our hearts are restless until they rest in Thee. Augustine.

    Comment by Mary B — September 1, 2010 @ 1:40 am


Leave a Reply

About author

After graduating from Holy Cross, Bill Borst earned an MA in Asian History from St. John's University and a Ph.D in American History from St. Louis University. (1972) A former New Yorker, he taught for many years in the St. Louis area, while also hosting a weekly radio show on WGNU from 1984-2006. He currently is a regular substitute for conservative Phyllis Schlafly on KSIV radio. (1320) He is the author of two books on social history, "Liberalism: Fatal Consequences," and "The Scorpion and the Frog: A Natural Conspiracy." He just retired as the Features editor of the Mindszenty Foundation Monthly Report. In his 11 years from 2003-2013 he wrote nearly 130 essays on Catholic culture and world affairs. Many in St. Louis also know him as the "Baseball Professor," because of a course that he offered at Maryville College from 1973-74. It was arguably the first fully-accredited baseball history course in the Midwest.The author of several short books on the old St. Louis Browns, he started the St. Louis Browns Historical Society in 1984. In 2009 his first two plays were produced on the local stage. "The Last Memory of an Ol' Brownie Fan," ran six performances at the Sound Stage in Crestwood and "A Perfect Choice" ran for two performances at the Rigali Center Theater in Shrewsberry. His third play, "A Moment of Grace," ran six performances at DeSmet High School in January of 2011with First Run Theater in January of 2011. He is currently working on a 4th play, "A Family Way," which is a comedy about a happy dysfunctional family. He can reached at bbprof@sbcglobal.net

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

