The Gospel Truth

A Fly on the Wall of Reason | December 17, 2009

The Catholic Church always seems to be a lightening rod for the salient issues of the day, whether it is abortion and euthanasia or social justice and global trade.  It goes with the territory of Jesus’ command to his nascent church to “go out and teach all nations…”

Of course it is not surprising that a world that gives more allegiance to Nicola Machiavelli and Karl Marx would not rest until the Church’s strong voice was sufficiently muted or even eliminated from the global marketplace.  The public disdain the Church has suffered also goes with the territory because Christ promised that the world would hate his followers and they would be persecuted for it.

None of the above bothers me.  I love “being a Catholic,” that is being part of something much greater than myself.  The title suits me and has become part of my personal identity.  When I meet someone for the first time, it is usually the second or third thing that comes out of my mouth.  The fact that I am a husband, father, grandfather and Mets fan usually are in the mix.

With that in mind, I think it fair to say my Church is going through a very difficult time.  As the guardian of truth, it is obvious, even to the unobservant who the Church’s enemies are on the outside.  However sometimes its enemies have breached its interior walls and are hurting the Church from within.

It is not my goal to savage or passionately attack my “modern” church, which is far different from the Church of my formative years.  I am deeply offended by the so-called sex scandal, which has unfairly cast a scarlet pale over the entire priesthood.  I think our leadership has bungled the job because too many of them chose to be modern bureaucrats instead of saints in the making.  They shuffled too many bad priests to other venues where they exuded their venom.

I find it much more disturbing than the scandals of the 16th century over the sale of indulgences.  One can only calculate how much damage this has done to the Church so many of us love deeply.

The Church has weathered other serious storms from persecutions to world wars and papal imprisonments.  It has endured murdering popes and popes, who have been murdered— libertines, and all sorts of human frailties and yet, it still stands.  So I feel confident that it will truly heed Christ’s words and exist “until the consummation of the world.”

Don’t get me wrong— I am not a traditionalist on the brink of apostasy and schism, like God bless him—crazy Mel.  I still believe in the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church that has evolved from the Petrine Rock over 2000 years ago.  The Catholic faith has been the most important influence in my life and deeply entwined with my eternal destiny.  There is an indelible seal seared onto my soul from my Catholic Baptism in 1943 that will stay with me until death.

That fact does not mean I cannot voice my displeasure at things when I believe the Church has taken a wrong turn or has promoted something contrary to what I will call the  “test of reason,” —like government-run health care!

Why so many of our leaders, including our church leaders trust the government is beyond me.  I wonder what the bishops must say to each other when they discuss in private the fact that most of our “Catholic” leaders are pro-abortion.

Wouldn’t you love to be a fly on that wall?   If they are acting reasonably, don’t you think they have failed to teach the right message?

As someone who has always tried to learn, think and apply his thinking to the issues, events and challenges of his circumstances, I hope that what follows will get Catholics and non-Catholic alike to think about the eternal questions of the their lives and seek the truth that will set them free from the entanglements and bondage of sin, distraction and materialism.

What I write and what I say is the direct result of a lifetime of reading, thinking and talking about my Faith.  My faith has not been static.  In many ways it has grown.  I have changed those things that I can change and have defended those ideas and beliefs that I believe to be unchangeable and absolute.

I could be wrong in what I say and write but that stems only from inferiority in research or a failure to fully comprehend, given my human and frail intellect.  My errors can never be charged to a lack of religious fervor or indifference to religious belief.  So whenever something happens down your pike, just ask yourself the question:

“Does it make any rational sense?”  Isn’t that what God gave us a brain for?

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

After graduating from Holy Cross, Bill Borst earned an MA in Asian History from St. John's University and a Ph.D in American History from St. Louis University. (1972) A former New Yorker, he taught for many years in the St. Louis area, while also hosting a weekly radio show on WGNU from 1984-2006. He currently is a regular substitute for conservative Phyllis Schlafly on KSIV radio. (1320) He is the author of two books on social history, "Liberalism: Fatal Consequences," and "The Scorpion and the Frog: A Natural Conspiracy." He just retired as the Features editor of the Mindszenty Foundation Monthly Report. In his 11 years from 2003-2013 he wrote nearly 130 essays on Catholic culture and world affairs. Many in St. Louis also know him as the "Baseball Professor," because of a course that he offered at Maryville College from 1973-74. It was arguably the first fully-accredited baseball history course in the Midwest.The author of several short books on the old St. Louis Browns, he started the St. Louis Browns Historical Society in 1984. In 2009 his first two plays were produced on the local stage. "The Last Memory of an Ol' Brownie Fan," ran six performances at the Sound Stage in Crestwood and "A Perfect Choice" ran for two performances at the Rigali Center Theater in Shrewsberry. His third play, "A Moment of Grace," ran six performances at DeSmet High School in January of 2011with First Run Theater in January of 2011. He is currently working on a 4th play, "A Family Way," which is a comedy about a happy dysfunctional family. He can reached at bbprof@sbcglobal.net

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

